A View From The Top

How people view themselves and their work is crucial in any endeavor.

“I had never in my life thought of seeking or holding public of office and I’m still not quite sure how it all happened. In my own mind, I was a citizen representing my fellow citizens against the institution of government. [As Governor of California] I turned to the people, not to politicians, for help. Instead of a committee to screen applicants for jobs, I had a citizens’ recruiting committee, and I told this committee I wanted an administration made up of men and women who did not want government careers and who’d be the first to tell me if their government job was unnecessary. And I had that happen. [A] young man from the aerospace industry dissolved his department in four months, handed me the key to this office, and told me we’d never needed the department. And to this day, I not only have never missed it—I don’t know where it was.”

Ronald Reagan March 31, 1976 Primary Speech as GOP Candidate for President

It’s nice to see something from a politician that talks about the people doing things, not doing things for the people.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

